Chi Gong #8 – watercolor on synthetic paper

My fourth one-person show at SMINK in Dallas opens on Saturday, October 13th.  I’ll be exhibiting work from the Chi Gong series as well as other paintings with repeating horizontal bars of color.  If you are in Dallas, please come and see the show.

As explained in the post before this, I do chi gong, or energy practice, before beginning to paint in the studio.  Among the many forms of chi gong, I was lucky enough to learn a very yin, or allowing, form that addresses not only the physical but also the mental/spiritual self.  It’s the perfect preparation for the art I do, centering and opening me to the energies of the present moment.

The chi gong practice begins with specific postures and the mantras that accompany them, then the body is simply allowed to move of its own accord.  Lately I’ve been appreciating how much this form has influenced my art process, which is to set up specific rules of shape and size, etc., then let the paint move.  It requires a certain faith that the outcome will be appropriate, and it’s never the same twice.