HyaleHyale (Raindrop), my newest painting, will probably be hanging in the Zane Bennett Contemporary Art group show that opens on Friday here in Santa Fe.  I certainly hope so.  Six of the new watercolor paintings and six very small paintings were delivered to the gallery this week.  I can’t wait to see which ones they choose to hang (there isn’t room for all of them).  Also showing will be works by old friends: Madelin Coit, Helmut Lohr, Zachariah Reike, Joe Novak, and Jennifer Joseph.  We all showed at EVO Gallery when it was still on Canyon Road, and still primarily supporting Santa Fe Artists.  These are all artists of high caliber, and I’m proud and happy to be exhibiting work with them once more.

Of course, we have all evolved somewhat in the intervening years – the years that correspond to my illness – so the whole show will definitely be fresh and full of surprises.  I’m stoked!

Also opening in the gallery that evening will be another group show, of local video artists’ work, and downstairs, a show by an artist, well-known in Europe, who I’ve never heard of and can’t remember his name.  If the work is strong, I will remember his name forever.