Elegy #2

SMINK in Dallas will be opening their Back + White show on Saturday evening, August 9th.  I sent  Elegy #2 to join work by Zachariah Rieke and other artists for what promises to be a stunning exhibit.  Elegy #2 is from an ongoing series of black, gray and white (or almost) paintings in memory of my late husband, Wayne.

Working with such a limited palette has forced me to focus even more on qualities of density and transparency, clarity and murkiness, dark and light. Metaphoric allusions can be read into the paintings, or not.  I confess that sometimes I do “read” them like poems, and sometimes as purely visual structures.

Once again, it feels appropriate to be using water to convey possible messages of grieving, loss and comfort.  Water is the element of the emotions –  the dreamy, stormy, moody or serene realm of Neptune – always changeable yet oceanic and deep.