2009, watercolor on layered synthetic paper, 40 x 60"

                       Galisteo #2 – 2009, watercolor on layered synthetic paper, 40 x 60″

This large painting, inspired in color by glorious autumn cottonwoods along the Galisteo River, has been selected for purchase by the Farmington Regional Animal Shelter.  Facilitated by the New Mexico Arts, Art in Public Places Purchase Initiative, the placement seems so appropriate to the life-affirming mission of the shelter.  I’m really pleased and proud to think of my work hanging there.  Actually, they are buying two paintings, but I thought I’d show you this vibrant, exuberant one.

Galisteo #2 was made in 2009, obviously a good year for cottonwoods.  Looking at it again I’m reminded of how much my work depends on forces beyond my conscious control.  Although I had no plan for this piece beyond the color, somehow it conveys a sense of trees in sunlight that is purely fortuitous.  I find that the more I allow life, paint, events, to arrive of their own accord, the richer my experience and the better my art.